If you love this book… then you’ll love this book…

It’s easy to get hooked on a story — whether its fantasy, or sci-fi, or horror, thriller, romance, or even a good old self-help book. You can lose yourself in the pages and the words, and then when you’ve completed it… what then?

            When you’ve spent days, if not weeks indulged in a story with the characters and the settings, it’s hard to know what to do once you’ve completed it. So to me, the best thing to do is to try and find something else to lose yourself in. 

            Below is a list of five books/series that I loved and felt deprived after completing them, but was lucky enough to go off and find another series that matched up to it. Some are more popular than others, and yes, may be a bit predictable, but perhaps you didn’t know one series matched another. 

            So here’s a list that I think matches stories well. 

  1. Harry Potter = Percy Jackson

I’m going to start with the obvious one first. Everyone knows about Harry Potter. Even those that have had no interest in reading or watching the series knows the name. So I thought starting with this one might be easiest as it shouldn’t be a surprise to link both Harry Potter and Percy Jackson together. 

            Both follow a young boy who discovers magical abilities within himself. Both are full of adventure, both see the characters grow up and learn their new magical skills. The two are so similar that it’s a surprise Percy Jackson hasn’t had the love and appreciation as much as Harry Potter has. But with Disney starting to create a series of the beloved books by Rick Riordan, perhaps it will finally get the credit it deserves — sorry both those films did not live up to the mark. 

            There are of course differences. Percy Jackson is to do with Greek mythology, whilst Harry Potter is full on wizardry and magic. Riordan decided to do it all in first person, while Rowling did it in third. But both do a beautiful job of creating diverse characters and the growing up tale of two young boys thrashed into a world they didn’t know existed. 

  • Game of Thrones = Falling Kingdoms

Now, I know both of these series I talk about a lot on this blog, but how could I not include them? 

            Game of Thrones is loved by millions. The series only brought even more readers to the books, and the diverse characters are something you cannot give enough justice to George R. R. Martin. 

            They are big books, and quite an epic read in both words and phrasing. So I decided to go for a series that is more linked with characters. Yes, I talk a lot about Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes as well, but I think it’s because it’s a perfect match to Game of Thrones. It’s even written on the cover of the first book that it is a perfect YA version of the beloved series. 

            You have diverse characters, a battle for the throne, but also a hidden tale within it all, much like the White Walkers. The development of the characters keeps you hooked and even those you despised in the beginning — much like Martin’s work — you end up rooting for at the end. 

            If anything, I think this series is perfect to read after A Song of Ice and Fire because they are smaller books and are easier to read due to being targeted for a younger audience. Sometimes I feel once I have read a big, long, epic series I need something a bit easier to read, and I myself have gravitated to a re-read of Falling Kingdoms after making my way through Martin’s work. 

  • The Source = Atomic Habits

I’m going to change it up a bit here and turn to a self-help book. This genre has been slowly climbing up the ranks over the last couple decades, and having gone from a small portion in book shops, it has slowly broadened its spectrum more and more. 

            I have dived into my fair share of books of the genre, and there are a few examples that I could link together, but I decided to go for an example that is a bit more intricate. 

            The Source by Tara Swart is a book that dives more into how the brain and mind works when it comes to her choices and emotions. It’s a great insight to why people perhaps choose to react a certain way. But once finished with this book, I think it’s perfect to then switch to Atomic Habits by James Clear as it almost takes the ideas from Swart’s work with how the brain works and links it to how we let our habits run how we live our life. 

            Even though both books can easily be read by themselves, I think they work so well to pick up together, just to give that insight to how our minds possibly work. 

  • A Court of Thrones and Roses = From Blood and Ash

I feel like I’m not breaking the boat by linking these two stories together as they are already making the turnaround social media. But it’s only because it is so true. 

            A Court of Thrones and Roses by Sarah J. Maas has been loved by millions for the last few years since its release in 2015. But Jennifer L. Armentrout only released her new series in spring 2020 and already it has gained much hiatus. 

            Both are more romance focused on the main characters — Feyre and Rhysand, and Poppy and Hawke — but there are a lot of fantasy elements interwoven to help drive the story. Both authors have taken the tropes and used them to help drive a new take on typical themes of faeries and vampires and keeps the reader gripped from page to page. 

            The relationships developed between not only the main characters, but also the side characters are gripping and the reader finds themselves invested in the whole group rather than just the main focus. 

            It’s safe to say that both also dive into the more adult language and these books aren’t for younger audiences, but both do it in such a beautifully crafted way that it only adds to the characters developments. 

            It’s safe to say that these two authors have taken the genre by storm and anyone who says they love Maas, certainly do not fail to pick up Armentrout’s work as well. 

  • The Maze Runner = The Knife of Never Letting Go

This last example I also think won’t come to too much of a surprise. Both of the series start in a similar way with a young woman being thrown into a world where only men are present. Both are trying to escape from danger and are trying to comprehend what is happening to them and their friends. 

            The Maze Runner by James Dashner is a bit more intricate with trying to escape a certain setting since a group have been trapped within a maze. But The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness is more focused on the young woman, Viola and Todd’s reaction, than Dashner does with Thomas and Teresa. Still, both are a great sci-fi action-packed story about the effects of war and the impact it has had on the world the characters live in. 

            If you loved the Maze Runner, or even read the Chaos Walking series, then you are bound to love the other as both are filled with similar themes and the dynamic between the characters help drive the story to keep you routing for them to come out on top. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: